Shipping: Shipping fees start from GBP £9.80

About Malta Coin Centre

The Malta Coin Centre (Central Bank of Malta) was established by the Central Bank of Malta Act on 17 April 1968. On 1 May 2004 the Bank joined the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and on 1 January 2008 it became part of the Euro system.

The main objective of the Euro system and the Central Bank of Malta is to maintain price stability. In order to meet this objective, the Central Bank of Malta participates in the preparation and decision-making process of the Euro system's monetary policy.

Other than the objectives of maintaining price stability, the Central Bank of Malta issues commemorative coins as the Malta Coin Centre, which are sold internationally to collectors and investors worldwide.

The Malta Coin Centre issued the first non-circulating, legal tender coins for numismatic purposes in November 1972. These consisted of a set of gold and silver coins that were issued in conjunction with the Sovereign Military Order of Malta based in Rome. In this section you can see the available range of products from the Malta Coin Centre.